TCDA Pod Mentoring Program

Jessica Nápoles, Vice President College/Community

One of the most important lessons we have learned from the pandemic is that we need one another. Connecting with others is important, and that is true both for our singers and for ourselves. A large number of people are entering the profession during these stressful times, seeking guidance, wishing to connect and have a listening ear to grant compassion when they struggle. As an organization, we are hoping to fill that need through a pod mentoring program.

For this pod mentoring program, we’re looking to match our experienced and retired directors with those new to the field. TCDA has a rich legacy with outstanding directors across the state, at every level and in every context, all dedicated to directing choirs and helping to serve singers everywhere. We also understand that sometimes a one on one pairing can be challenging and new directors can greatly benefit from others like them who are also entering the profession. To that end, we’re looking to establish pods (a small group of 4-5 teachers), with a combination of beginning directors and experienced/retired directors. The goals are to establish camaraderie between beginning directors (who are having a similar experience), to create opportunities for them to engage with experienced/retired directors, and to build support systems that lead to retention in the profession. This format would also allow for less pressure on an individual pairing and benefits in multiple directions (peer to peer, beginning director/experienced director). We envision a flexible arrangement for interaction, with a variable time commitment depending on the times of the year and the needs of those in the pod.

At this time, TCDA is asking for assistance with identifying these beginning and experienced/retired directors, in all settings in which our choir directors work, so we may begin the process of matching. TCDA is a caring community and we all understand there is much to be gained from connecting with one another and serving our singers.

We have had limited response so if you have already completed this form, there is no need to do so again. 

We need more participants to make this a robust and valued program for anyone interested.  Please indicate your interest in participating in this pod mentoring program by completing information HERE

Thank you for your consideration and willingness to support our organization’s membership!


TCDA Committees

Scholarship Committee

Gloria Stephens, Chair, former board member
Paul Doucet, Southlake/Carroll HS
Heather Sharp, Klein HS
Robert Stovall, former board member

Award Committee

Mark Rohwer, Flower Mound HS, Lewisville
Dianne Brumley, Retired, former UT-Brownsville
Kelly D’Souza, Lovejoy HS, Lovejoy
Kelly McDonald, Kleb MS, Spring
Gerald Nicholas, Patterson MS, Killeen
Reg Wright, Mansfield HS, Mansfield

Honor Choir/All-State Choir Committee

Grant Easdon, Leander MS, Leander
Megan Jackson, Fort Worth ISD, Fort Worth
Alicia Jones, KIPP Sharpstown College Prep, Houston
Solange Mainer, McLean MS, FWISD, Fort Worth
Carole Mason, Klein ISD, Spring
Marie Parisot Olsen, CFISD - Arnold MS, Cypress
Rocio Rodriguez, Reyes Elementary School, El Paso
Victoria Romero, Aldine ISD, Houston
Victoria Suarez, Plano ISD, Shepard Elementary School, Plano
Tommie Trinh, First Colony MS, Sugar Land

Clinton Hardy, MS/H VP, Co-Chair
Sarah Reyes, Elementary VP, Co-Chair


Leadership Committee

John Lee Bonner, First Colony Middle School, Victoria
Alexander Carr, Hebron HS and Ridglea Christian Church, Irving
Adam Hightower-Moreno, Humble ISD, Houston
De'Evin Johnson, Ridge Point HS, Missouri City
Eunice Marrero, Wilson MS, Plano ISD, Plano
Leigh Ann McClure, Keller Central HS Choir, Fort Worth
Coty Raven Morris, Crosby HS, Crosby
Randy Preston, Stony Point HS, Round Rock
Jasmine Reed, Peet JH, Conroe
Vivian Rodriguez, Crockett MS Choir, Irving

Thomas Rinn, President, Co-Chair
Pam Elrod Huffman, Past President, Co-Chair
Allen Hightower, Church VP, Co-Chair


Programming Committee

Reginal Wright, Mansfield HS, Mansfield
Jennifer Agbu, Katy ISD, Fulshear
Jeremy Bledsoe, Ross S. Sterling HS, Baytown
Elizabeth Cole, Sulphur Springs HS, Sulphur Springs
Lauren Davis, MacArthur HS, Irving
Francisco Espinoza, Shadow Creek HS, Houston
Frank Eychaner, University of Texas Permian Basin, Odessa
Jennifer Gallagher
, Shadow Creek HS, Pearland

Lisa Jenkins, Golden Gate MBC, Dallas
Joshua McGuire, Rock Hill HS (Prosper ISD), Frisco
Amber  Moon, Harker Heights HS, Harker Heights
Michael Murphy, Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches
Nathan Ponder, Nacogdoches HS, Nacogdoches
Adam Samuels, Chorus Abilene; St Paul UMC, Abilene
Morris Stevens Jr, St. Theresa Catholic Church and Masterworks Singers, Pflugerville
Miguel Stonecipher, Cunningham MS, Houston

Jessica Nápoles, College/Community VP, Co-Chair
Pauline Sexton, HS VP, Co-Chair


Purpose & Vision Committee

Clinton Blanco, Irving ISD, Irving
Becky Compton, Irving Chorale, Southlake
Tod Fish, Stephen F. Austin State University, Nacogdoches
Randy Hooper, Texas A&M University-Commerce, Commerce
Kara Kasberg, Danielson Middle School Choir, Leander
Jesus Morales, Harlingen CISD, Treasure Hills Presbyterian Church, Harlingen
Charnele Pendarvis-Romero, Katy ISD, Katy
Kenneth Rivens, Robert Vela HS, Edinburg
Sally Schott, University of Houston, The Woodlands
Kenneth Williams, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Kingsville
Elisa Wilson, University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso

Carolyn Cruse, President Elect, Co-Chair
Eric Cooley, Secretary, Co-Chair