Award & Scholarship Recipients

2019 Award Recipients


Texas Choirmaster Award

This award is reserved for a TCDA member with clearly superior choral conducting and musicianship skill with many years of performance success.  Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.

2019 Recipients

Rosemary Heffley


Accepted by Dede Duson

Nora Henson


Dallas, TX

Choral Excellence Award

This award is based on the recipient’s contributions to choral music in Texas, mentorship and inspiration to colleagues and students, and continued advocacy for the future of choral singing.  Nominations made by TCDA members.


2019 Recipients

Norris Blevins


Seabrook, TX

Margaret Jordan


Pasadena, TX

Eddie Quaid


Houston, TX

Billy Talley


Amarillo, TX

Young Director of Distinction Award

This award recognizes TCDA choral directors who have taught for seven years or less and achieved exceptional success in those years.  Nominations made by TCDA members. 

2019 Recipients

Eradio Martinez

San Benito CISD

San Benito, TX


Lauren Robertson

Cnaey Creek HS

Conroe, TX

TCDA Service Award

Not awarded every year, this select award is reserved for unusual or unique service to TCDA. Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.


2019 Scholarship Recipients

(The 2019 Scholarship Recipients pictured with Pam Elrod Huffman, TCDA President, Kari Gilbertson, TCDA Past President & Mary Jane Phillips, TCDA Scholarship Committee Chair).


Undergraduate Scholarship Winners

  • Cloys Webb Scholarship ($1000) & TCDA General Fund ($500) - Vivian Suarez-Espinoza, UT San Antonio

  • Past Presidents Scholarship ($1000) & TCDA General Fund ($500) - James Segura, UT San Antonio
  • Jackie Cocke Scholarship ($1000) & TCDA General Fund ($500) - Adam Thomas, Texas Christian University
  • Donald Bailey Scholarship ($1000) & TCDA General Fund ($500) - Helen McDaniel, Baylor University
  • James Matheny Scholarhip ($1000) & TCDA General Fund ($500) - Henrick Zetterstrom, Texas Tech University
  • Mary Ann & Art Winden Scholarship ($4000) - Kameryn Mattingly, UT Arlington
  • General Scholarship ($1500) - Ashley Dean, UT Arlington
  • General Scholarship ($1500) - Ivan Rodriguez, Texas State University
  • General Scholarship ($1500) - Laurel Kroesch, University of North Texas


Professional Scholarship Winners

  • Jim and Glenda Casey Scholarship ($1000) - Hannah Ware
  • Abbott IPCO Scholarship ($1000)  - Debbie Seitter
  • Gandy Ink Scholarship ($1000) - Francis Vu