The Texas Choral Directors Association annually presents awards of appreciation to TCDA members who have shown exceptional talents and dedication to their chosen profession.  To view a list of previous recipients, please go to the "Past Recipients" page. 

Nominations for the Choral Excellence Award & Young Director of Distinction are currently closed!

Deadline for nominations is April 15, 2020

Texas Choirmaster Award

This award is reserved for a TCDA member with clearly superior choral conducting and musicianship skill with many years of performance success. Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.

2019 Recipients - Rosemary Heffley (posthumously) & Nora Henson

Texas Choral Excellence Award
This award is based on the recipient’s contributions to choral music in Texas, mentorship and inspiration to colleagues and students, and continued advocacy for the future of choral singing. Nominations made by TCDA members.
2019 Recipients - Billy Talley, Eddie Quaid, Norris Blevins, & Margaret Jordan

TCDA Young Director of Distinction Award
This award recognizes TCDA choral directors who have taught for seven years or less and achieved exceptional success in those years. Nominations made by TCDA members. 
2019 Recipients - Lauren Robertson & Eradio Martinez