Awards and Past Recipients

The Texas Choral Directors Association annually presents awards of appreciation to TCDA members who have shown exceptional talents and dedication to their chosen profession.

Texas Choirmaster Award

This award is reserved for a TCDA member with clearly superior choral conducting and musicianship skill with many years of performance success. Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.

2013 - Jerry McCoy, Betsy Cook Weber

Previous Recipients:
2010: Milton Pullen
2008: Donald Bailey
2007: Kenneth Fulton
2005: James Moore
1997: Hugh Sanders
1991: B R "Bev" Henson, Gene Kinney, Charles Nelson, & Lloyd Pfautsch
1980: Frank McKinley
1978: Euell Porter

Texas Choral Excellence Award
This award is based on the recipient’s contribution to choral music in Texas, mentorship and inspiration to colleagues and students, and continued advocacy for the future of choral singing. Nominations made by TCDA members.  Deadline for Nominations: APRIL 15, 2014.

2013 - Keith Dixon, Nora Henson, Barry Talley

Previous Recipients:
2012: Denise Eaton, Cecile Johnson & Mike Ware
2011: Dianne Brumley, Jan Juneau, Michael O'Hern, & Jo Scurlock-Dillard
2010: Linda Ice
2008: Carroll Barnes, Loyd Hawthorne, Barbara Perkins, & Sally Schott
2007: Dennis Boyter & Rosemary Heffley
2006: Betsy Henderson & Terry Price
2005: Glenda Casey, John Hemmenway, Janet Scarcella, Ron Shirey, & Dr Robert Young

TCDA Young Director of Distinction Award
This award recognizes TCDA choral directors who have taught for five years or less and achieved exceptional success in those years. Nominations made by TCDA members.  Deadline for Nominations: APRIL 15, 2014.

2013 - Ashley Delaney, Kelly Dunn, Jennifer Gallagher, Matthew Green

Previous Recipients:
2012: Bethany Green & Carisa Niemeyer
2011: Katherine Johnson & Jeffrey Delman
2010: Clorese Porter-Gray & Kyle Zeuch
2009: Kim Eder Ahrens & Antoinette Murphy Harris
2008: Heather Sharp, Natalie Waters, & Kasey Wilson
2007: Jenny Crawford, & David Landgrebe

TCDA Service Award

An award reserved for unusual or unique service to TCDA. Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.

Previous Recipients:
2011: Dan Wood & Jeanne Kuhn Lowenhaupt
2008: Arthur Gurwitz & Southern Music Company
2005: M G Garvin
1997: B. Jack Glover, Lois Land and Al Skoog